Quick answer: which louvered pergola to buy
For most patios, buy an all-aluminum louvered pergola kit around 10x13 ft with a hand crank and built-in gutters, and bolt it to a concrete slab with the anchors the manual specifies. In the same brand lines, aluminum louvers carry higher published wind and snow ratings than galvanized steel louvers, and a crank is enough unless the roof is hard to reach. Go motorized for large or high roofs; Angi puts most motorized pergolas at $7,500 to $22,500 installed.
Standard patio: aluminum louvered kit, 10x13, hand crank, gutters. Windy or snowy site: the model with the highest published rating, anchored to concrete as the manual says. Large or hard-to-reach roof: motorized. Sun only, small budget: steel-louver kit or an open pergola with a canopy.
What to buy
Louvered pergolas to compare
Product types matched to the answer above. Brands to compare include Purple Leaf, Mirador, Domi and Outsunny; check each model's published wind and snow rating before you buy.
Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate, we may earn from qualifying purchases.

Most patios
Mirador 111S Louvered Pergola, 10 x 13 ft, Charcoal
Crank-operated louvered roof with a published wind and snow rating for a standard patio
- 10 x 13 ft, powder-coated aluminum frame
- Crank-opening galvanized steel louvers, 0-93 degrees
- Listed wind rating 70-73 mph, snow load 1,807 lb
Check:Louvers are steel, not aluminum; the listing gives 73 mph in the specs and 70 mph in the text.
$2399.00as of 2026-11-04 17:50 CET
Check price on Amazon
No cranking
Motorized louvered pergola
Electric louvers with remote, some with rain sensors and LEDs
- Opens and closes from a remote or app
- Worth it on large or high roofs
- Needs an outdoor outlet or wiring near a post
Check:Power source, motor warranty and what the roof does if power fails.
See motorized louvered pergolas on Amazon
Privacy add-on
Easy-Going Outdoor Curtains, 2 Panels, 54 x 84 in, Beige
Grommet-top panels for the side where low sun gets under the roof
- 2 panels, 54 x 84 in each
- Waterproof fabric, 8 stainless steel grommets per panel
- Tab bottom for tying down
Check:Needs a rod or cable on the pergola; 84 in may be short for tall beams.
$19.99as of 2026-11-04 17:59 CET
Check price on AmazonPrices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
Buying Direction
What to buy or use
| Situation | Buy / use this | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Concrete patio, you want sun control and cover from light rain | All-aluminum louvered pergola kit, about 10x13 ft, hand crank, built-in gutters | The most common kit size and setup; louvers close for rain and open for sun or airflow. |
| Open, windy site | A model with a high published wind rating, anchored exactly as its manual specifies | Published ratings across popular kits range from about 40 to 102 mph, and they assume full anchoring. |
| Snow region | An all-aluminum roof with the highest published snow load, checked against your local design snow load | Kit snow ratings run from about 14 to 27 lb per sq ft; galvanized steel louvers rate lower. |
| Large or high roof, or you want remote and rain sensor control | Motorized louvered pergola | No cranking; costs more and needs power, often a new outdoor outlet. |
| You want it right against the house | A freestanding kit set next to the wall, or an attached system planned with the building department | Most kits are freestanding. Fixing to the house adds a ledger, flashing and usually a permit. |
| Sun shade only, tight budget | Steel-louver kit, or an open pergola with a retractable canopy | Lower published ratings; fine for sheltered yards with little snow. |
Louvered pergola wind and snow ratings, compared
A louvered pergola is a freestanding frame, usually aluminum, with a roof of slats you can rotate. Closed, the slats overlap and send rain into gutters; open, they let light and hot air through. The roof is what you pay for, and it is also what wind and snow act on, so the published ratings are the first thing to compare.
The numbers vary a lot between kits that look alike. The table lists ratings the manufacturers publish. Mirador marks its figures as valid with professional assembly and anchoring, and Purple Leaf's manual gives its 72 mph figure for a fully secured pergola. Treat every rating as conditional on the anchoring in the manual.
Ratings
Published ratings for popular louvered pergola kits
| Model | Frame / louvers | Operation | Wind | Snow or roof load | Sizes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Purple Leaf 10x13 | Aluminum / aluminum | Hand crank | 40-45 mph | 22.4 lb/sq ft roof capacity | 10x13 class, 12x16 class |
| Purple Leaf 94AS | Louvered roof | Not stated | Up to 72 mph (fully secured) | Not stated | 11x13 |
| Domi metal louvered | Aluminum posts / galvanized steel beams and louvers | Lever | 60 mph | 13.8 lb/sq ft | 10x10 to 14x20 |
| Mirador 80S | Galvanized steel / steel | Not stated | 78.5 mph* | 15.7 psf* | 10x10, 10x12, 10x20 |
| Mirador 111S | Aluminum / galvanized steel | Crank, or electric (E-Motion) | 90.2 mph* | 20.8 psf* | 10x10, 10x13, 10x20 |
| Mirador 111DA | Aluminum / double-layer aluminum | Crank | 102 mph* | 26.6 psf* | 10x10 up to 24x24 |
Aluminum vs steel louvered pergolas
Many kits use aluminum posts; the difference is the beams and louvers. Galvanized steel louvers rely on their coating to resist rust. Aluminum louvers do not rust and weigh less, which leaves more of the structure's capacity for snow and wind.
Within one brand you can see the effect. Mirador's all-aluminum 111DA is rated 102 mph and 26.6 psf, the aluminum frame with steel louvers (111S) 90.2 mph and 20.8 psf, and the steel 80S 78.5 mph and 15.7 psf. Domi says the same thing in its own FAQ: its galvanized steel roof has lower snow resistance than all-aluminum pergolas. If you live where it snows or blows, pay for aluminum louvers.
Manual crank vs motorized louvers
A crank or lever is enough for most 10x10 and 10x13 kits: you set the louvers a few times a day at most. Motorized louvers earn their price when the roof is large, high or split into several sections, or when you want the roof to close on its own when rain starts. Budget for power: Angi lists $150 to $260 to add an outdoor outlet if you do not have one near a post.
Operation
Crank vs motorized vs smart louvered roofs
| Operation | Installed cost per sq ft (Angi) | Installed cost per sq ft (HomeGuide) | Good for | Watch |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Manual crank or lever | $50 to $110 | $45 to $110 | 10x10 to 12x16 kits on a patio | You have to be home to close it |
| Motorized | $60 to $130 | $55 to $125 | Large or high roofs, several roof sections | Power at a post, motor warranty |
| Motorized + smart (sensors, app) | $80 to $180 | $75 to $175 | Roof closes itself in rain | Most parts that can fail |
Louvered pergola sizes: 10x10, 10x13, 12x16 and 12x20
Kit sizes refer to the roof, not the clear space between posts. Outsunny's 10x13 aluminum louvered pergola, for example, measures 155.5 x 118 in overall but 147.75 x 110.25 in between columns. Measure your furniture layout against the inside dimension and leave walking room around the table.
10x13 is the size you find across brands: Mirador, Domi, Purple Leaf and Outsunny all sell one. Above about 12x16 the roof crosses 200 sq ft, which is where HomeGuide notes some cities start requiring a permit.
Sizes
Common louvered pergola sizes
| Size | Roof area | Typical use | Installed estimate at $45 to $125/sq ft | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 10x10 ft | 100 sq ft | Bistro set or small seating corner | $4,500 to $12,500 | Offered by Mirador and Domi |
| 10x13 ft | 130 sq ft | Dining set or sofa group on a standard patio | $5,850 to $16,250 | Offered by Mirador, Domi, Purple Leaf and Outsunny |
| 12x16 ft | 192 sq ft | Dining plus lounge area, hot tub | $8,640 to $24,000 | Just under 200 sq ft |
| 12x20 ft | 240 sq ft | Outdoor kitchen or two zones | $10,800 to $30,000 | Over 200 sq ft; check permits |
Are louvered pergolas waterproof?
Closed louvers shed rain, but most kits are sold as water resistant, not watertight. Purple Leaf's manual lists its 94AS as water resistant; its 10x13 has a hidden gutter, and each louver has drainage grooves that send water to the frame and down the posts. Domi channels rainwater through the roof and beams down its four pillars into collection basins, and Outsunny lists a hidden drainage system.
Two things decide how dry you stay. First, wind-driven rain still blows in from the sides, so add side curtains on the weather side. Second, every post that drains water dumps it at its base. Place the pergola so that water runs away from the house and off the slab, not toward a door. The pergola for rain guide compares louvered, fixed and canopy roofs if staying dry is the main goal.
Louvers open or closed in wind and snow
Follow your own manual here, because instructions differ. Purple Leaf's 94AS manual says to keep the louvers fully closed in heavy rain or strong wind, to keep them open in heavy snow or ice so snow does not build up, and not to adjust the roof in windy conditions.
Compare the snow rating with the design snow load for your address, which the local building department can give you. If the kit's rating is lower, clear snow early or pick a stronger model. For exposed sites, the high-wind pergola guide covers anchors, post sizes and which shade types to avoid.
Permits, anchoring and freestanding vs attached
Most louvered pergola kits are freestanding: four posts on base plates bolted down. Purple Leaf tells owners to secure the pergola to a stable foundation with the provided expansion screws, and Outsunny includes ground stakes and expansion screws. Expansion anchors need solid concrete of adequate thickness. On pavers, a wood deck or soil, ask the manufacturer what base the published wind rating assumes before you buy.
Attaching a louvered roof to the house means a ledger into the wall framing, flashing and almost always a permit and inspection. Freestanding kits often need one too: HomeGuide puts the average permit at $60 to $150 and notes some cities require none unless the structure is over 200 sq ft. Call the building department with the size and height before you order.
Cost
Louvered pergola cost at a glance
| Item | Range | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Louvered roof, installed | $45 to $125 per sq ft | HomeGuide |
| Motorized pergola, total project | $7,500 to $22,500 (average $13,700) | Angi |
| Motorized DIY kits | Start around $3,000 to $5,000 | Angi |
| Professional labor | About 20 to 30% of the project | Angi |
| Outdoor outlet for a motor | $150 to $260 | Angi |
| Pergola permit | $60 to $150 on average | HomeGuide |
National averages; local labor, concrete work and electrical change the total.
Watch-outs
Before you buy or install
- Published wind and snow ratings only apply with the anchoring in the manual; expansion anchors need solid concrete.
- Follow the manual on louver position in wind and snow, and never adjust the roof in strong wind.
- Attached roofs and pergolas over about 200 sq ft often need a permit.
Questions
FAQ
Are louvered pergolas waterproof?
Closed louvers shed rain into built-in gutters, but most kits are sold as water resistant rather than watertight, and wind-driven rain still blows in from the sides. Add side curtains on the weather side and route the downspout water away from the house.
How much does a louvered pergola cost?
HomeGuide puts an installed louvered roof at $45 to $125 per sq ft, which is about $5,850 to $16,250 for a 10x13. Angi puts most motorized pergolas at $7,500 to $22,500 installed. DIY kits cost less, and concrete or electrical work adds to the total.
How much wind can a louvered pergola withstand?
Published ratings range from about 40 to 45 mph for some 10x13 kits to 102 mph for Mirador's all-aluminum 111DA, and the higher figures assume professional assembly and anchoring. Check the rating for your exact model and anchor it as the manual says.
Do you need a permit for a louvered pergola?
Often. Rules are local: HomeGuide notes some cities require no permit unless the pergola is over 200 sq ft, and attached pergolas usually need one. Permits average $60 to $150. Call your building department with the size and height.
Should louvers be open or closed in snow?
Follow your manual. Purple Leaf's 94AS manual says to keep the louvers open in heavy snow or ice so snow does not build up, and closed in heavy rain or strong wind.
Is aluminum or steel better for a louvered pergola?
Aluminum louvers do not rust and, in brands that sell both, carry higher wind and snow ratings. Galvanized steel louvers are fine for sheltered yards with little snow.



